Place is Everywhere, Captain Obvious!

As strange as it seems, place keeps coming back and slapping me in the face. “I’m everywhere,” it says. “Use me!” And so when I venture to the great Emerald Isle, I will embark on a writing journey completely focused…on place.

How can someone not write about this??

Located hundreds of miles from my tiny apartment is the brilliant city of Dublin where I will learn how the wonderful country of Ireland feels, smells, and sounds. ¬†Place allows everything in a story to prosper if the writer lets it. Too often stories are set in a wonderful place, and the writer kills it before it can build a life of its own. It is in other stories that place becomes the center of the characters’ lives and without it the story falls a part. Ireland brings me an opportunity to experience the world as it was before cell phones, electricity, and even indoor plumbing.

It is the magic of the land that I hope to soak in and apply to my writing. A chance to breath in the history and the myth of the ancient world.  After starting the Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, the mystical elements of the land seem into my sub-conscious and beg of me to search for faeries and leprechauns on my trip. I have a goal to wander the wilderness of Ireland in search for the Otherworld, but perhaps that will have to come in my dreams or my writing. Regardless, a trip to this magical place has inspired an idea of epic proportion, which I hope will blossom on my journey to Dublin.

Instead of forests and streams, my trip will be full of the Dublin nightlife, which will hopefully still hold the magic of Ireland!

What magical place have you always dreamed of traveling to and writing about? Share your thoughts here!

Happy reading and writing!!

3 Comments

Filed under Idea of the Day

3 responses to “Place is Everywhere, Captain Obvious!

  1. I would LOVE to travel to Ireland and Scotland, cruise around the moors, the castles, the ruins, and embed myself in ancient medieval towns and culture that now resides there. Currently, oceans, mountains, forests and Neuschwanstein castle inspire me a lot.

    • kford2007, I am eternally grateful my graduate program requires me to go to Ireland because it will be the inspiration of a lifetime. I will be sure to soak in as much of the history and landscape as I can. I already know it will be worth the trip. Hopefully you will be able to take it yourself someday soon!

      Mywithershins, this opportunity is great and well worth the money I will have to pay back in loans. I will be sure to blog all about it and give you all great stories :) It will be the adventure of my lifetime!

  2. I am jealous of your opportunity to travel to the Emerald Isle! All of Europe, with it’s history, its castles, its stone circles and its mythology, calls out to me, if only we could afford the trip! :)

Leave a Reply

